Where Did the Simple Days of Christmas Go?

Posted: December 2, 2009 by Matthew Casey in Commentaries
Tags: , , , , ,

The world is such a busy place.  The simple life has gone the way of the dinosaur.  In fact the only thing that is “simple” about life today is how easy it is to rely on technology.  We are so caught up in over complicating our lives with things like cell phones and other devices.  We are connected twenty-four seven to the workplace.  Gone are the days when we left your work at the door on the way out of the building. We now take it with us everywhere we go.  So it should come as no surprise that we over complicate Christmas!

Gone too are the days when Christmas was about spending time with loved ones and family.  Nowadays it seems to be all about the shopping and the hustling and bustling to beat the crowds at the stores to get the hottest items on the shelves. Our lives are already so caught up with long working hours. For some odd reason society seems to be driven to the need to take away more of our personal time so that we can spend it in overcrowded stores spending more money than we should on gifts.

The emphasis on Christmas seems to be more on what are you getting me this year? rather than I’m so glad we can spend time together.  For me, and maybe it’s because I’m over simplistic, Christmas is more about spending time with my family.  I really could care less about the gifts.  Christmas has always been for me the one time of year that we can all take time out of our hectic lives to spend together in one common place.  We always share a delicious Christmas dinner and good laughs and cheer later on throughout the evening.

When I think of Christmas it takes my stress away because I know I’m going to get to spend time with family.  But I always get a little chuckle when I hear other people talking about how stressed they are that December 25 is right around the corner.  We have overcomplicated the day so much that, what was meant to be a relaxing time with family seems to be just another day of stress and tribulations like the other three hundred and sixty four out of the year.

I’m sure people of days gone by would get quite a kick out of how complicated we’ve become.  I don’t let myself fall into this trap.  Christmas is a day to relax and enjoy family togetherness.  I don’t let it become anything more complicated than that!

—Matthew Casey

Leave a Reply

