Where Does Jimmy Fallon Stand?

Posted: January 22, 2010 by Matthew Casey in Commentaries, Entertainment
Tags: , , , , , ,

With the recent publicity that Jay Leno and Conan O’Brien have gotten he last couple of weeks it seems as though one man, Jimmy Fallon, has been pushed to the side.  Fallon who hosts Conan O’Brien’s old spot on NBC has really kept quiet on the events that have unfolded in the last few weeks.  He really hasn’t made any remarks about the late night situation at all even when just about every other late night host has had a field day with the fiasco.

CNN has recently put out an article on the likelihood of Jimmy Fallon inheriting the “Tonight Show”.   In their article they seem to detail that he has been wise to keep quiet about the whole event because he hasn’t been with the network long enough to earn his say.  It also says he’s following in the same footsteps as Conan.  But in light of recent events one would have to say this is not a good thing as things obviously didn’t work so well for Conan.

In my opinion, I have to say that I really can’t stand Jimmy Fallon as a host of a late night show.  I have tried over and over to get into his version of “Late Nite” but it just doesn’t work for me.  I’m not imposing that I could do any better as I know that he probably has a very difficult job. However, I find that he is just awkward at hosting the show.  When he delivers his monologues he seems as though he is very uncomfortable and has to force everything.

I tried watching his show when he first took it over in March ’09 and I figured that this awkwardness would pass over time.  I thought to myself, he just has to establish himself.  But here we are in January 2010 and he still seems as “new” at it as he did the first episode.  In fact, I am very surprised that NBC hasn’t tried to dump him.

All I can say is that if a  truly funny man like Conan O’Brien couldn’t please NBC as host of the “Tonight Show” then the really awkward host of “Late Nite with Jimmy Fallon” doesn’t have a chance either.  NBC is most likely not going to gamble with its flagship show anymore in the future after recent events. They will be looking for a stable, well-known individual to take over the show when Jay Leno finally leaves for good.   If even David Letterman wasn’t good enough to get the promotion back in 1992,  then that doesn’t bode well for Fallon either, because in my opinion even Letterman is a better late night show host then Fallon is.

—Matthew Casey

Comments
  1. Furluge says:

    I think Fallon made his position pretty clear in a small comment he managed to slip into last night’s broadcast. He started off by wishing Conan farewell and encouraging the audience to watch Conan’s last show, saying he’d be watching it, and then saying it was what NBC used to call “Must See TV.” He then followed up with this Gem.

    “You know there have been three hosts of Late Nite. There’s been David Letterman, Conan O’Brien, and Me. And if there’s one thing I’ve learned from Dave and Conan it’s that hosting this show is a one-way ticket to not hosting the Tonight Show. If you don’t ever want to host the Tonight Show, then you should host Late Nite. It’s a good thing I like it.”

    • macas539 says:

      I’m sorry I missed that episode! I would have loved to hear him say that comment! It seems to really ring true!

      • Furluge says:

        You can easily see it all at TV Gawker Which has been covering the whole fracas day by day with relevant clips from each show. Fallon has things to say about Conan leaving on Thursday and Friday. Nothing too out there, things that could be said safely Which as you said, is very smart of him. But I think it’s clear he’s be influenced by Conan’s work and probably his bits when Conan was a writer for SNL, even if he wasn’t employed there at the same time I can’t imagine he hasn’t watched those shows when he was younger.

Leave a Reply

