TTC Troubles

Posted: February 15, 2010 by Matthew Casey in Commentaries
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wow! First off I have to say that it has been a while since I have posted on here! I have been so deeply entrenched in my studies as of late that I have neglected to write….Now on with my thoughts:

There is a lot of fuss lately about the TTC (Toronto Transit Commission) and how their service is less than stellar.  I`ll admit they aren`t the nicest people around, they can be brute to say the least when one asks a question to the driver as I have recently discovered on my travels.   But with all that I think I know where they are coming from.

These drivers most likely work long hours and see hundreds of people everyday.  Some of the people who these employees must deal with are very rude and ignorant themselves.  Now I know that old overused saying “the customer is always right”, but I think that if I was in the driver’s seat and having to put up with rude and ignorant people like that all day I would snap too.

For instance the other day I was on a bus and the driver stopped to pick up some passengers.  A young couple tries to board the bus by saying they were just on another bus and forgot to get the transfer paper.  They asked the driver if he could just let them on anyways. Naturally the driver says no.  He starts to politely explain to the couple that anyone could just get on a bus and say that they  “forgot” to get the ticket so if they want on they have to put in the proper fare.  The couple then began to vehemently argue with the driver.  The driver started to raise his voice and the rest of the people on the bus started to get impatient as we just sat on the side of the road witnessing this stupidity.

After a couple of minutes of this bickering, a passenger got up and dropped the money in the fare box for these people just to get them on the bus so that we could get going again.  I have only been taking the TTC here for a little while now and I have to say after witnessing this I don’t know how these drivers can do their jobs day-to-day.  As I mentioned before, I think that I would snap too if I had to deal with moronic individuals like this daily.  I think that people should just lay off the TTC and let them do their job.  I’m sure all the pestering they are getting from everyone lately is really not helping them to improve their service any.

All I can say is my hat’s off to the men and women who run Toronto’s transit system!

—Matthew Casey

Comments
  1. brenw23 says:

    And my hat’s off to people who don’t wear hats.

Leave a Reply

