What Kind of City is This?!

Posted: February 18, 2010 by Matthew Casey in Commentaries
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So I just have to say that I have discovered that Torontonians are not anything like Maritimers.  Yesterday while at a very busy subway station in Toronto I managed to somehow fall up a flight of stairs during rush hour.  Yes, you are probably asking yourself, how did he fall up the stairs?  Well I am not to sure of that myself, it all happened really fast, but my best guess would be I skipped a step on the way up.

Anyways, I wasn’t seriously injured, although my dignity was given quite  a bruising.  But what disturbed me the most other than the fact of how dirty the stairs in a TTC subway station are is that not one person even asked me if I was okay or needed help!  People were literally jumping over me, and walking around me giving me dirty looks.   Had something like this happened in the Maritimes people would be crawling over each other to make sure the person was okay! Trust me I know this as I have witnessed these things in New Brunswick a time or two.

Toronto is a beautiful city but the people here are just in too much of a rush to bother to help their fellow neighbour.  I just hope that I never seriously injure myself.  I think if I had of been injured I would be laying on the steps of that subway station right now.   The other thing I hope is that I don’t come across my spill on Youtube! I could only imagine the TTC staff in a security office laughing uncontrollably at some guy falling up a set of stairs on a security camera whilst replaying my wipe out over and over again.  Somehow that security camera footage of people in embarrassing situations always leaks to sites like Failblog and Youtube.

All this said, it gave me a good laugh too, I know I looked ridiculous.  I mean really there is no way to fall gracefully is there?

—Matthew Casey

Leave a Reply

