So Begins another Era of “The Tonight Show With Jay Leno”

Posted: March 1, 2010 by Matthew Casey in Commentaries, Entertainment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

By Matthew Casey

The Olympics are now over, Canada got its gold against the USA in hockey and life returns to normal.  Normal that is unless your a fan of late night television.  That we know will never be the same until Conan O’Brien gets back on the airwaves!  Tonight, however, Jay Leno takes the torch–sorry I had to say that I’m still in the Olympic spirit– and hosts the first post-Conan Tonight Show.

I plan on tuning in to see how it looks and goes as I am sure many others out there will.  However, I think that it will only be a matter of time before he fails as well.  I think that the damage to his reputation has been done and he won’t be able to pick up again.  After all it’s sort of like the old expression “you can’t go home again”.  So while his ratings might be strong tonight they will eventually dwindle again after the novelty wears off of the new show smell.

I’m very curious to see how the show may or may not have changed from his previous gig.  I would think that he would have to make some changes to attempt to attract an audience again.  After all, people are going to get tired of the same old.  I mean honestly, how long can something like “Headlines” or “Jaywalking” be funny? They’re getting old!  So hopefully for Leno’s sake he will have some new tricks up his sleeves for his second run at the Tonight Show.

So I wait in anticipation of 11:35pm to see if this new ship will float or sink!  Wow I also noticed that I am full of clichés today!!

Comments
  1. Brendan Wahl says:

    I’ll probably review it. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

