The True Dream Job: Being a CEO of an Oil Company

Posted: June 18, 2010 by Matthew Casey in Commentaries
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

By Matthew Casey

Apparently to be a CEO of a massive gas and oil corporation you do not need to possess many skills. You’re not involved in any decisions no matter how crucial they may be to the safety of your line workers and the environment.   You need not worry about anything other than making sure your weekly pay checks are going to the right bank account.

In watching the proverbial grilling of British Petroleum CEO Tony Hayward yesterday I came to the conclusion that he apparently is just a money sucking leech.   Well that would be what he wants you to think of him so he can shift any blame that may fall on him to someone else.  There were questions after questions and Mr. Hayward gave the same answers.  I don’t know, or I wasn’t involved.  What I want to know is how did he keep such a straight face throughout all of this? Maybe he was picturing the poor Pelicans that are covered in oil and dying because of his inadequate leadership, but most likely he was thinking of how horrible it would be if he was fired and lost his large salary.

Now what shocks me the most about all of this is that this man who is in charge (or at least we think he is) of a massive oil company that drills wells deep into places where no human could ever possibly go.  While drilling for this oil they have the potential to unleash a natural disaster of epic proportions.  Case and point the Gulf of Mexico Disaster.  But yet this man seems to have no accountability towards anything that went wrong to lead up to this horrendous environmental tragedy and he seems to not even care in the least about the devastation that it has caused and he still can keep his job and income.

What strikes me as odd is that I often face more accountability than this CEO in my everyday job of working at a hotel.  When something goes wrong or something isn’t done right and I am involved I am grilled until I provide an answer that is satisfactory to explain and resolve the situation.  If I tried to just shrug off the questions by my superiors with “I don’t know” and “I wasn’t aware” I would be fired and out the door in the blink of an eye.  So why is it that this man can be on Capitol Hill having his every decision and involvement with BP methodically ripped apart by high ranking Senators and yet he can simply just beat around the bush and still keep his job and high paying salary?

Some of the questions that were asked that Mr. Hayward claimed to know nothing about were things that you would think a CEO would have to be know about in some form or another.  For instance he was asked about why BP chose to go with a single casing liner as opposed to a double.  Hayward’s response I wasn’t involved in that decision making process. Come on! You’re the CEO! You’re the top of the top, and I would not believe for a second that a decision that would involve the safety of the drilling operation would not have passed over his desk at least once.

In  the end trying to hold this man accountable for decisions that he undoubtedly made that played a part in this tragedy proved to put us no further ahead than we are with putting a stop on this leak.

So with all that said I think I am going to go after his job.  I hear it pays pretty well and I would love to have a job in which I would not be held accountable for the mistakes I have made, even if they cause ecological devastation like we have never seen before.

Who knows his job might be up for grabs soon, as apparently Hayward has been removed from “day to day” operations as of today.  But how much do you want to bet that he is still getting his $4.7 million salary just the same? And if he was relieved from the day to day operations that should be nothing new for him because according to his answers yesterday he didn’t really seem to be involved in them anyways.  Must be nice!

Leave a Reply

