I Can’t Stand You: Adrien Brody

Posted: July 24, 2011 by Brendan Wahl in Articles
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let me start off by saying that there are not a whole lot of actors who I outright hate. Most of the ones I do despise are pretty much universally-despised anyway (Pauly Shore, Carrot Top, etc.) but there is one guy who everyone seems to either love or be indifferent about and that is the Oscar-winning thespian, Adrien Brody.

Ugh. Just take a gander at that STUPID look on his face.

Now I’m sure this is probably going to rustle some feathers but I have to say it and get it out in the open. I HATE ADRIEN BRODY. Seriously, what has this man ever done BESIDES The Pianist that has been so impressive? Now before you get into how great he was in that movie (which I have not seen), it doesn’t matter. One stunning performance does not make a good actor. Almost everything else I have seen him in since then has been nothing but half-assed unconvincing acting. Whenever I see a movie with Adrien Brody, I ALWAYS see it as Adrien Brody and not the character he’s playing. The same argument could be made for Arnold Schwarzenegger or Tom Cruise, but at least I’m enjoying it when they’re on-screen.

Adrien, however, has never failed to bore me with his on-screen work. What follows is a list of everything I’ve seen him in and every way in which he’s been boring/annoying.

 

The Village (2004) – He was crazy and screamed a lot. And stabbed Joaquin Phoenix.
The Jacket (2005) – Oh my god, don’t even get me started on this drivel. Keira Knightley’s tits were the highlight(s).
King Kong (2005) – One of my favourite Hollywood blockbusters that had Adrien playing a VERY unconvincing leading man.
Hollywoodland (2006) – The only film I’ve ever found Adrien Brody passable in. Ben Affleck was the shit in this though.
The Darjeeling Limited (2007) – Adrien was the weak link in the weakest of Wes Anderson’s films.
Predators (2010) – Again, Adrien as an action hero?! No!

 

Now obviously not everyone will agree with me so I invite you to voice your own opinions on the man and what you think of him. I should also mention that a movie about the events of Waco is set to be released this year and I was super stoked for it until I found out Brody is in it! At least he’s not playing David Koresh. Giovanni Ribisi, a MUCH more interesting actor, is taking over that role. Wait, what’s that? He’s still playing a fairly big role anyway? Motherfucker!

Comments
  1. I agree, he sucks and is neither good looking or a decent actor.

  2. Getrekt says:

    Youre pathetic.. Why would you have to make an article about a damn actor you dont like. Also to say that one movie does not make a great actor and then you say “i havent seen the pianist” wich apparently even you know that its his best performance.

    Ive also dislikes some actors but not to the point that I hate them so much that I need to tell it to others.

    My advice is to see the pianist, and the Netflix show “DICE” with the episode starring adrien brody and maybe you will change your mind.

    I just feel like its seems like it would be quite frustrating to refuse to see a movie just because you dont like ONE person in it.

Leave a Reply

